Faux Beef Barley Soup

I am a domestic overlady (I work in our home and keep the family, you know), and I know all this crazy domestic overlady-ish stuff. (Like how to cook all kinds of weird things from scratch and sew and make costumes and homeopathic medicine- just a little bit). And, I have toyed with the idea of sending this knowledge out to the world via lessons to others who don’t know how to do some or maybe all of these things, but I never got off my duff and did it. So, now I think I’ma gonna start.

When I used to eat dead things, I loved beef barley soup and the unusual feel of the whole barley against my tongue as I ate it. I came up with this recipe one day when I was missing that feel. All my recipes are vegetarian (ovo-lacto or vegan), including this one:

Faux Beef Barley Soup

4 cups vegetable broth
4 cups water
1 medium onion diced
3/4 cup barley
3/4 cup lentils
2 large carrots diced
2 large celery stalks
1 cup dried chunk style textured vegetable protein (I like Dixie Diner’s Club brand)
Soy sauce to taste.

Put all ingredients into a large pot and simmer 1 ½ hours. Best served on a cold or blustery day.

One thought on “Faux Beef Barley Soup

  1. […] Diaz presents Faux Beef Barley Soup posted at Virginia […]

Leave a Reply

