And the Artistic Encouragment from My Parents Never Ends (that’s a good thing)

So, as I wrote a few weeks back, I’ve been lucky to have grown up in a family that strongly encourages artistic endeavors and, despite the fact that I’ve been a grown up for a couple of decades now, I’m still getting some new artsy experiences encouraged by my parents:

We went to Sunday Brunch a few days ago and my dad asked both Dear Hubby and I to help him out by letting him record us singing his newest song so he could play with the new super snazzy professional looking mic that he recently got. He was doing this 5 part harmony thing and he had already gotten one of my sisters, one of my brothers, and my sister’s husband to sing two parts each. Dear Hubby sung tenor and bass and I sung soprano and alto. It was a quick, fun new experience and I kind of hope that we get to do it again sometime soon.

2 thoughts on “And the Artistic Encouragment from My Parents Never Ends (that’s a good thing)

  1. Jean says:

    Actually for the longest time, it the opposite in my family. Cultivation of naturally strong artistic skills was discouraged. Not surprisingly, my immigrant parents wanted us to land reliable jobs. Hence, go for in educational degrees that would nominally provide a range of jobs.

    Nevertheless I stuffed 4 art courses (half credits) in my final yr. of high school. Went for BA English degree because I loved writing and thought it would be one step away from so called poor artist path. Then another degree where I did work in my chosen profession (libraries, knowledge management, etc.). Throughout all this, took evening courses here and there for fun on painting, stained glass and calligraphy.

    Blogging actually pulled together my twin interests in visual arts and writing..in ways I never dreamt of.

    But no one amongst my siblings has music abilities. But the parents too poor to afford after school lessons for any subject. I think the poverty issue in this area is so real.

    Yet very important to cultivate interest or allow child to try something that interests them. ( Same can be said for any sport. )

    These are lifelong skills for mental and physical health.

  2. Ginny says:

    Jean,

    Thanks for commenting. I can see why parents would stress skils that would be more likely to make their kids financially secure and I’d never knock those important life lessons, but I am very greatful that my parents were able to see the value in creativity and trying art for art’s sake and instill that in me.

Leave a Reply

